Latest News

The 2014 Louisvillian of the Year

AAF-Louisville is pleased to announce the 2014 recipient of the Louisvillian of the Year award,Tori Murden McClure.

Tori Murden McClure, President of Spalding University since 2010, is an author and a civic and educational leader. A longtime resident of Louisville, McClure cares for her community, and her efforts at Spalding help to provide a better future for the people she serves. It is her dedication to helping people in the Louisville community through the transforming power of education that made her the obvious choice for the 2014 Louisville of the Year Award.

Under her leadership, Spalding University has nearly doubled the physical size of the campus and added more than 100,000 square feet of classroom, laboratory, clinical, office, and educational space. At the same time, the university has improved the campus with the addition of green space, and recently purchased over 7 acres of industrial property which are slated to become athletic fields. McClure was also instrumental in Spalding gaining admission into the NCAA.

McClure may be best known as the first woman and American to row solo across the Atlantic Ocean, but she was also the first American and first woman to ski to the geographical South Pole. She holds a bachelor's degree from Smith College, a Master of Divinity from Harvard University, a juris doctorate from UofL's Brandeis School of Law, and her Master of Fine Arts in writing from Spalding University. Her memoir, A Pearl in the Storm, is regularly used as a book in common for colleges and universities; most notably, the United States Coast Guard made it required reading in 2010.

Please join us to congratulate Tori Murden McClure on winning this award! The Louisvillian of the Year awards luncheon will take place on Friday, July 25, at the Olmsted. Member price is $28 and non-member price is $40. Tickets on sale now at (Reserved seating is available for tables of 8 and 10 by

First bestowed in 1951, the AAF-Louisville's "Louisvillian of the Year" is the oldest award of its kind in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. This outstanding achievement is given by past recipients to publicly recognize the generous personal contributions to the life of the community in the areas of civic, educational, or business progress in recent years. This award is for someone whose contribution is above and beyond the responsibility of his or her chosen profession. Prior recipients include Rick Pitino, George Fischer, Bernard Trager, Dr. James Ramsey, Sam Swope, Bill Samuels, Jr. and Jerry Abramson.

Return to list