2019 Louisvillian of the Year

Purchase Tickets

2019 Louisvillian of the Year

Event Times:Doors open at 8 a.m., Program starts at 8:30 a.m. and will conclude by 10 a.m.

Event Location:The Olmsted

Event Address:3701 Frankfort Ave, Louisville, KY 40207

Ticket Price:$35 Members; $50 Non-Members

AAF-Louisville is pleased to recognize Diane Porter as the 2019 Louisvillian of the Year! Diane was selected for the honor of Louisvillian of the Year by a panel of past honorees.

Diane Porter, an educator for 39 years, is the Jefferson County Public Schools board chair. A native of Louisville, her impact on youth as a leader and educator has spanned generations. She is a graduate of the Louisville Public School System and the University of Louisville (UofL). Her professional public education experience is vast, having served as a teacher, guidance counselor, assistant principal, principal, and central office administrator. Following her retirement in 2009, she has continued to offer her wealth of knowledge as a JCPS board member representing District 1. Porter’s work on behalf of children extends to a number of community organizations, including the 15K Degrees Initiative, which aims to increase the number of African-American degrees by 15,000 by 2020. She is a board member for the Fund for the Arts, Leadership Louisville and the Louisville Urban League, and is a lifetime member of the Louisville NAACP and Louisville Urban League. As a member of the 2014 class of Leadership Louisville Bingham Fellows, focused on boosting west Louisville, Porter’s team worked to create the Little Libraries initiative in partnership with Metro United Way – literally bringing accessible and free learning opportunities to Parkland neighborhoods. She is the 2019 recipient of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Freedom Award and was a finalist in 2017 for the Green-Garner Award from the Council of the Great City Schools. Diane Porter shared the love of public education with her daughter, Dani, who took on several community causes and helped to provide opportunities for Louisville youth.

Please join us on November 15 to honor our 2019 Louisvillian of the Year, Diane Porter, for her decades-long commitment to Louisville and all she continues to do for our community.

Click here to view past Louisvillian of the Year recipients.


Thank You to Our Sponsors!


Presenting Sponsor


Table Sponsors