Announcing 2020 Louisvillian of the Year I Ed Hamilton

Announcing 2020 Louisvillian of the Year I Ed Hamilton

Announcing 2020 Louisvillian of the Year I Ed Hamilton

Oct 16, 2020

October 15, 2020

Media Contact:
Allison Deely

American Advertising Federation – Louisville Names Ed Hamilton 2020 “Louisvillian of the Year”
Honoree will be recognized with award at a virtual event on November 13th

LOUISVILLE, KY – The American Advertising Federation – Louisville (AAF) today announced the 2020 Louisvillian of the Year honoree, Ed Hamilton. Mr. Hamilton, a local artist, educator, and community leader, will be recognized at a virtual event on November 13th at 12:00 p.m.

Mr. Hamilton was born in 1947 in Cincinnati, Ohio, and has been a resident of Louisville for 60 years. He is a graduate of the Shawnee High School class of 1965 and a graduate of the Louisville School of Art class of 1969. Active in his community, Mr. Hamilton spends time teaching workshops and conducting lectures for public schools, colleges, and conferences. He taught sculpture at Jefferson Community College, is a Morgan Professor of Public Art at the University of Louisville, a member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, and a long-time member of St. George’s Episcopal Church.

“As we near the end of a challenging year, I think we are all acutely aware of how important community leaders are when it comes to inspiring us, motivating us, and challenging us to better serve our city and one another,” said Jenna Morales, President of AAF-Louisville. “Ed Hamilton’s decades-long impact on Louisville spans across the genres of education, art, and civics. We are thrilled to present him with the 2020 Louisvillian of the Year award.”

In 2005, Ed was part of the design team of Mahan Rykiel and Associates that won the commission to create the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial park in downtown Newport News, Virginia. In 2009 Ed created the Lincoln Memorial at Waterfront Park. He also created a Lincoln Memorial for Centre College in 2012, which stands in front of the library on campus.

Additional achievements of note include creating the Urban League Champion of Diversity Award, receiving the Black Achievers Award, and receiving the Carter G. Woodson National Educational Award. Mr. Hamilton holds honorary degrees from the University of Louisville, Western University, Centre College, and Spalding University.

He has been married to Bernadette for 54 years and has a son and daughter, Edward the third of Louisville, Kentucky, and Kendra Hamilton Wynn of McKinney, Texas.

AAF-Louisville’s annual Louisvillian of the Year award is the oldest of its kind in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, having recognized outstanding Louisville community members since 1950. Each year the winner is selected by a panel of past honorees. Previous honorees include Diane Porter, Mary Gwen Wheeler and David Jones, Jr. (awarded jointly), Steve Trager, David Armstrong, Tori Murden McClure, George Fischer, Bernard M. Trager, Alice K. Houston, Mary Bingham, Muhammad Ali, Junior Bridgeman, and Mary H. Griffith.

About AAF – Louisville

American Advertising Federation – Louisville (AAF-Louisville) with more than 400 members, represents Louisville’s $1 billion advertising industry and is a Division I member of the American Advertising Federation. AAF-Louisville is a fourteen-time AAF
Division 1 “Club of the Year” winner, receiving the award in 1993, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2015, 2016, and 2017 — competing with clubs in top-tier markets including Cleveland, Houston, Minnesota, New York, and Philadelphia. Originally incorporated on January 30, 1908, today’s AAF-Louisville is the area’s oldest membership organization for marketing, advertising, and other communications professionals. To learn more, visit