AAF-Louisville Names Diane Porter 2019 “Louisvillian of the Year”

AAF-Louisville Names Diane Porter 2019 “Louisvillian of the Year”

AAF-Louisville Names Diane Porter 2019 “Louisvillian of the Year”

Sep 4, 2019

August 27, 2019

Media Contact:
Rachel Albritton 502.905.5170

American Advertising Federation – Louisville Names Diane Porter 2019 “Louisvillian of the Year”
Honoree will be recognized with the award, the first of its kind in Kentucky, on November 15th

LOUISVILLE – The American Advertising Federation – Louisville (AAF) today announced the 2019 Louisvillian of the Year award honoree as Diane Porter, Jefferson County Public Schools (JCPS) board chair. Porter will be recognized at a breakfast on Friday, November 15th at 8:00 a.m. at the Olmsted. JCPS spokeswoman and former WHAS11 news anchor, Renee Murphy, will emcee the event.

An educator for 39 years, Porter is a native of Louisville and her impact on youth in our community has spanned generations. She is a graduate of the Louisville public school system and the University of Louisville (UofL). Her professional public education experience is vast, having served as a teacher, guidance counselor, assistant principal, principal, and central office administrator.

Following her retirement in 2009, she has continued to serve the public schools system as a JCPS board member representing District 1. Porter also serves in roles on number of community organizations, including the 15K Degrees Initiative, which aims to increase the number of African-American degrees by 15,000 by 2020, Fund for the Arts, Leadership Louisville, and the Louisville Urban League. She is a lifetime member of the Louisville NAACP and Louisville Urban League.

“Given her decades-long commitment to supporting not just the public school system but so many underserved members of our community as well, Diane Porter is a deserving recipient of Louisvillian of the Year,” said Kelley Kerger, President of AAF-Louisville. “We are happy to have the opportunity to recognize a dedicated educator impacting Louisville in a positive way.”

AAF-Louisville’s annual Louisvillian of the Year award is the first of its kind in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, having recognized outstanding Louisville community members since 1950. This year’s winner was selected by a panel of past honorees. Previous honorees include Mary Gwen Wheeler and David Jones, Jr. (awarded jointly), Steve Trager, Chairman and CEO of Republic Bank, David Armstrong, former Mayor of Louisville, Tori Murden McClure, George Fischer, Bernard M. Trager, Alice K. Houston, Mary Bingham, Muhammad Ali, Junior Bridgeman, and Mary H. Griffith.

Tickets for the Louisvillian of the Year award breakfast are $35 for AAF-Louisville members and $50 for non-members. Reserved seating is available with table sponsorship. Tickets may be purchased online here. Doors will open at 8:00, the event begins at 8:30 a.m., and ends at 10:00 a.m. Media are welcome to attend. Media credentials will serve as a ticket.

About AAF – Louisville
American Advertising Federation – Louisville (AAF-Louisville) with more than 500 members, represents Louisville’s $1 billion advertising industry and is a Division I member of the American Advertising Federation. AAF-Louisville is a thirteen-time AAF Division 1 “Club of the Year” winner, receiving the award in 1993, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2015, 2016 and 2017 — competing with clubs in top-tier markets including Cleveland, Houston, Minnesota, New York, and Philadelphia. Originally incorporated on January 30, 1908, today’s AAF-Louisville is the area’s oldest membership organization for marketing, advertising, and other communications professionals. To learn more, visit www.aaflouisville.org.